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Virginia Depacafieéntof
Mines Minerals and Energy

ADVANCED FIRST AID

PHOTO ID REQUIRED

Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety L aws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal
mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in
which the Board of Coal Mining Examinersis established for the purpose of administering the
certification program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set
the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and
certifications.

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION: Advanced First Aid
This certification authorizes the holder to meet standards for emergency care in the coal mining
industry required by §45.1-161.199.

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:
=  Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
0 Note Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are due

no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee that an
opening will be available.

= 24 hour Advanced First Aid course taught by an Advanced First Aid Instructor (class must be

completed and paperwork submitted prior to taking an exam)
= Hold aGenera Miner Certification - Surface or Underground

NOTE: TRANSFER OF EMT/FIRST RESPONDER CERTIFICATION TO ADVANCED
FIRST AID MAY BE ACCOMPLISHED BY:
»= Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
»  Provide verification of valid EMT/First Responder certification issued by EMSVA
= Attend 8 hours Advanced First Aid Reciprocity Training Course conducted by aDM certified
Advanced First Aid Instructor
» Hold aGeneral Miner Certification - Surface or Underground

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS: The examination for certification in Advanced First Aid
requires a passing score of 80% on the written sections of the examination.

NOTE: If exam istaken three (3) timeswithout a passing score or if certification isrevoked due
to not completing the continuing education requir ements, the applicant must retake the 24 hour
Advanced First Aid course.

ELEMENTS OF EXAM NUMBER OF QUESTIONS
Section1 (F1) 20

= Respiratory Emergencies, Respiratory System

= |ntroduction to First Aid

= Wounds

-Continued on back-
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ELEMENTS OF EXAM NUMBER OF QUESTIONS
Section2 (F2) 20
Circulatory System

= Control of Bleeding

= Shock
Section 3 (F3) 20
Musculoskeletal System
= Abdominal Injuries = Lower & Upper Extremities Injuries
= Chest Injuries = Peviclnjuries
= Didocations = Spind Injuries
= Face & Throat Injuries = Sprains
= Fractures = Transporting Victims
= Head Injuries
Section 4 (F4) 25
Accidental Poisonings
Substance Abuse
Environmental Emergencies
= Burns

= Cold Exposure

= Stings & Bites
Emergency Rescue

= Electrical Circuits

» Hazardous Materials

= Irrespirable Atmosphere

= Machinery Entrapment

» Roof & Rib Entrapment
Sudden IlIness

= Diabetes

= Epilepsy

= Heart Attack
= Stroke

NOTE: Each student must successfully complete:
= Coursein Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) i.e., heart saver or other four-hour equivalent
= Practical examination which includes forearm, lower leg, spine board

RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:
= BCME Requirements (No Charge)

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Department of Mines, Mineralsand
Energy’s Big Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center (276) 523-8233 and L ebanon Field
Office (276) 415-9650.

*4 hours Advanced First Aid continuing education annually will update this certification.
*Contact Mountain Empire Community College (MECC) 276-523-2400 for classinfor mation.

NOTE: A current EMT or First Responder Card issued by Virginia Emergency Medical
Services (EM S) may be submitted in lieu of Advanced First Aid continuing education.
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