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Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal 
mine workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in 
which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the 
certification program.  The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set 
the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and 
certifications. 
 
 
CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:  *Underground Shot Firer (Coal) 
This certification authorizes the holder to perform blasting operations, pre-blasting and post-blasting 
examinations, and handle corrective measures in misfired shots in underground coal mines. 
 
NOTE:  This certification shall not be used in lieu of any other certification. 
 
APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 
§ Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination  

o Note:  Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are due 
no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee that an 
opening will be available.  

§ Two years coal mining experience underground, one year of the two years shall be 
handling and using explosives underground under the direction of a certified underground 
shot firer or appropriately related work experience approved by the Chief of the Division 
of Mines.  NOTE: Experience must be submitted within 5 years of passing the 
examination.  After 5 years records are destroyed.  Must reapply if future certification is 
desired. 

§ Hold a General Miner Certification  
§ Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced 

Training acceptable) 
 

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:  A score of 85% on each element of the examination. 
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ELEMENTS OF EXAM       NUMBER OF QUESTIONS 
§ Principles of Blasting   (PB)       20 
§ Surface Storage   (SS)        20 
§ Underground Storage   (US)       20 
§ Underground Transportation   (UT)      20 
§ First Aid   (FA)         25 
§ Federal Regulations  (FR)        20 
§ Underground Blasting (UB) 
§ Gas Detection - practical demonstration    

 
       RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS: 

§ Title 30 CFR (Included in study guide) 
§ Mining Laws of Virginia ($5.50) 
§ BCME Requirements (No charge) 
§ Underground Shot Firer Study Guide ($5.00) 
§ First Aid for Miners Study Guide ($9.00) 

 
The above mentioned materials are available at the Big Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance 
Center (276) 523-8233 and the Lebanon Field Office (276) 415-9650. 

      
* Continuing education required. See BCME Requirements. (Effective August 25, 2004)        
 
 
 
                  
                    


